Setting up a NAS

Get answers about sharing MediaMonkey for Windows 4 with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

RavishingRickRude
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 3:47 pm

Setting up a NAS

Post by RavishingRickRude »

Hi everyone.

Is there a guide for setting up a library in a NAS? Anyone have any advice/tips?
(Have a QNAP NAS and was going to set it up as RAID 5.)

Thanks
Lowlander
Posts: 54187
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 10:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by Lowlander »

There's nothing to it really. Put the files there and then scan them via their UNC Path into MediaMonkey.
Peke
Posts: 16211
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:21 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by Peke »

RavishingRickRude wrote: Fri Oct 28, 2022 8:05 am Hi everyone.
Is there a guide for setting up a library in a NAS? Anyone have any advice/tips?
(Have a QNAP NAS and was going to set it up as RAID 5.)
Thanks
It depends how big nas you have I have 4 bay QNAP and went with Two RAID 1 (I know I loose half storage, but have ways to restore more quickly).

here is example how I would do it:
1. My files are on d:\Music
2. In Winodws file explorer Copy/paste d:\Music -> \\QNAP_IP\Multimedia\Music
3. Rename d:\Music -> d:\!Music
4. Use File -> Manage Library -> Backup now (Just to be safe)
5. Select all files -> File -> Locate Moved/Missing tracks -> point it to "\\QNAP_IP\Multimedia\Music" (Copy/Paste from file explorer)
6. Wait, it can last -> confirm update
7. all should be there now.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum postr
RavishingRickRude
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 3:47 pm

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by RavishingRickRude »

Cheers matey, will try this
RavishingRickRude
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 3:47 pm

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by RavishingRickRude »

Lowlander wrote: Fri Oct 28, 2022 2:34 pm There's nothing to it really. Put the files there and then scan them via their UNC Path into MediaMonkey.
Is there any need to setup a UPnP app on the local NAS in this case?
thanks
RavishingRickRude
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 3:47 pm

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by RavishingRickRude »

[/quote]

Is there any need to setup a UPnP app on the local NAS in this case?
thanks
[/quote]
...with the idea being I can turn my NAS on without using my PC, needing to run the MM client from PC, only my phone
Lowlander
Posts: 54187
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 10:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Setting up a NAS

Post by Lowlander »

You'll need a DLNA server App on the NAS if you want to stream from the NAS directly to the phone (without MediaMonkey on PC). This does mean that play history isn't tracked and that Playlists from MediaMonkey are missing.
Post Reply