big syncing, many crash, woe :(

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

feline1

big syncing, many crash, woe :(

Post by feline1 »

Folks, I have been using Media Monkey for Windows since about 2015,
my library continues to grow :evil:

Currently I am on MM 5.0.3.2627 on Windows 11 64 bit, with a rather ageing Sony Walkman NW-ZX100 with a 1TB microSD card in it. The ZX100 only has USB2,0 and my library is currently 722 GB (over 30,000 tracks)

I don't know if it is Windows 11's USB drivers, MMW5 being buggy, the 1TB SD card getting in a error-strewn mess, or just too damn many tunes.... but increasingly I find myself getting into a situation when my Walkman just will not sync any more, and I have to reformat the SD card and sync the whole library all over again.
It NEVER will sync in one go, the process is typically taking the best part of a week. The sync will proceed for a few hours and then MMW5 will throw and error. And Windows will often tell me the SD card now has errors and want to run scandisk on it.

Usually with several days' patience, I get there in the end, but this time it has gotten into an unsyncable state twice now when the library was only about 75% transferred, and I'm back to square one :(

In particular, in the page in MMW for the device, the bar chart showing the contents now has 700GB as 'audio' and another block the same size as 'Other', so MMW thinks there isn't enough space to sync any more. (And it just hangs on 'Scanning...') when I click Sync Now. It looks like some kind of 'cache is full of junk' type problem, causing MMW to think there is stuff on the SD card that isn't there.

Are there any tips for making this process behave better?
It's getting to the point where I'm thinking I need to buy an new Walkman with USB 3 connectivity, which would speed up the transfers by an order of magnitude... but that would be expensive :(