All of my music suddenly can't be found. Rescan didn't help

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

infestchris

All of my music suddenly can't be found. Rescan didn't help

Post by infestchris »

Background (in case it's relevant)
I've been running MediaMonkey for maybe 10 years. It's super reliable and I've migrated to different devices over the years. These days I have a portable install on a network drive to make migrating to a new PC nice and easy. The music files live on a home NAS and they are always mapped to M:\

I've recently had a headache with my old iPod Classic not working right, but I found the d_ipod.dll issue and eventually fixed it ok.

Current issue
Since then (last month) it was all working fine until suddenly none of my music can be played. I know the scenario well if perhaps the NAS has died or is rebooting. The player skips passed tracks it can't find. I can see that missing tracks come up as greyed out.

Because the app seeing the files on the mapped drive is so important, I have set Windows (10 Pro) to open WIndows Explorer at the right path on login. It does this every time and I've had this in place for years, to make sure the drive path is up OK.

Attempt To Fix - One

I tried to "Locate Moved / Missing Files..." feature but it can't see anything.

I've highlighted one album and run the locate feature, and it just says

Files located in new locations = null
Unmoved files = null
Unlocated files = that whole album I highlighted...

OK, so it has ticked each item for you, and I hit the highlighted "Update" button

Nada. Nothing. A very fast progress bar passes by and I see no visible change.

Has my portable database spontaneously $hit itself and now all of my playlists are broken?

Attempt To Fix - Two