Restore Database

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

Lowlander
Posts: 56905
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore Database

Post by Lowlander »

Yes, what part do you not get? Go to Music > Location, right click drive, and use Media Properties from the Context Menu.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

Thank you. I'll try that tomorrow morning and will let you know the status.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

OK, I got that. So what should I do, should I click "Add/Rescan files to the Library"?

Thank you.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Resume Scanning

Post by bensonspooky »

Hello,

I have to rescan all my files into MM5 and there are a lot of files to be scanned. If I close MM5, will the scan resume and continue once I open MM5 again or it will start the scan all over from the beginning?

Thank you.
Rob_S
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 1:53 pm

Re: Resume Scanning

Post by Rob_S »

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but if the reassign drive worked correctly, you should NOT have to rrescan.

Your files should be immediately accessible. Rescanning may give you a duplicate set of files again.
Using V2024 LATEST alpha or beta build on Windows 11, HP laptop, managing 13k tracks
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Resume Scanning

Post by bensonspooky »

Well, the problem is after I reassign the drive, my songs still failed to play. Maybe I didn't do the reassign correctly since I really have no idea how to do it.

I went to Music/Location as instructed and find three items there: C:(OS); (OS) and Youtube. I clicke the Media Properties of C:(OS) and it showed>

Type: Fixed; Serial: FA656.FB
Label: OS
Location: C\

I clicked OK. But don't know if the drive was reassigned. So I thought maybe I need to rescan all my songs in MM5 again.

Thank you.
Lowlander
Posts: 56905
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore Database

Post by Lowlander »

Did you use re-assign drive first, and do the files work now? You can't scan before that's the case.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

Sorry for being ignorant, how do I use the re-assign drive first? I really don't understand how does the reassign drive process work.

Thank you.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

I read the "reassign drive" link and still can't figure out how to reassign the drive from Location/Media Property. I didn't see any option to change drive.

Please help.

Thank you.

PS: By the way, spamhaus.org kept blocking my IP address and I have to keep asking them to delist it. It only happened to MediaMonkey, no other websites. I don't know what's going on.
Lowlander
Posts: 56905
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore Database

Post by Lowlander »

Did you click the Location drop down on the Media Properties dialog? You should be able to select your drive there.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

Yes, the Media Properties showed the following:

Type: Fixed
Serial: FA656.FB
Label: OS
Location: C\

I clicked OK. But don't know if the drive was reassigned.
Lowlander
Posts: 56905
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore Database

Post by Lowlander »

Did you do this for the drive that wasn't working in Location (no drive letter)? You need to fix the 'broken' drive.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

How?
Lowlander
Posts: 56905
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore Database

Post by Lowlander »

Select the problem drive in Music > Location node, Media Properties, set to correct drive as Location.
bensonspooky
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:17 pm

Re: Restore Database

Post by bensonspooky »

"set to correct drive as Location"

When I opened the Media Property, there's no other option except to click OK. Is that how I correct it?
Post Reply