Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

rockymtnryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:05 pm

I Screwed Up My Tree - Please Help

Post by rockymtnryan »

I have no idea what I did please help.

For some reason when I view my tree it is pushed over so far to the left I can't see anything. Now there is a big blank space to the right which only contains the current album being played.

All I did was try to remove an album in the tree, I think I double-clicked something and now everything is screwed.

I'm also missing the easy navigation buttons above the player window, below the main tool bar with file, edit, view, play, tools, help, etc

For example it used to show...

Library > Artist & Album Artist > Artist > Album

This was an easy way to access artists and albums without viewing the tree and now its gone, and the tree is messed up.

Please help!

Can I just restore default settings somehow? I have an updated version of MM Gold
rockymtnryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:05 pm

Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by rockymtnryan »

I messed up the look and functionality of MM and want to restore to the default settings that were in place when I downloaded the software.

Can anyone tell me how to restore MM to default settings?
Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Dreadlau »

You could try to reset MM window sizes and positions by deleting HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MediaMonkey\Interface registry key.

And if it's not enough, do a clean install of Mediamonkey.
See: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=54
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)
rockymtnryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by rockymtnryan »

So magically the tree is fixed. I just re-opened MM (did this a bunch) and all of the sudden the tree is visible and is the proper size.

I'm still missing the quick navigation links above the main window though.

Library > Artist & Album Artist > Artist > Album

Any idea how I get those back?
Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Dreadlau »

rockymtnryan wrote:I'm still missing the quick navigation links above the main window though.
Any idea how I get those back?
View --> Tollbars --> Standard
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)
rockymtnryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by rockymtnryan »

Not those. Under that row on buttons, but above the main window of columns. I used to have another row and its gone.

For example mine would say something like

Library > Album & Artist > (artist name) > (album title)

And now the tree is a screwed up again. WTF this is really pissing me off. One time I hit view > tree and its fine, then next time I hit view > tree its all screwed up. What the hell is going on here.
Lowlander
Posts: 56995
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Lowlander »

That's the Navigation toolbar.

Have you tried scrolling the Explorer Tree horizontally back to the beginning?
Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Dreadlau »

Dreadlau wrote:
rockymtnryan wrote:I'm still missing the quick navigation links above the main window though.
Any idea how I get those back?
View --> Tollbars --> Standard
Sorry I meant

View --> Toolbars --> Navigation
rockymtnryan wrote: And now the tree is a screwed up again. WTF this is really pissing me off. One time I hit view > tree and its fine, then next time I hit view > tree its all screwed up. What the hell is going on here.

Could you post a screenshot?
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)
meghan

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by meghan »

i'm having a similar problem as this previous post. first what i think was my column browser became a separate window and then it disappeared completely. i clicked where i saw the words 'column browser' and something sort of flashed like it was responding to me but i still don't see it anywhere. now all sorts of things are going weird and it's very confusing.

i tried to follow the years old link i found on the forum page but it's gone. can you help me out?

p.s. i'm not tech-oriented. please don't assume i'll know how to do something that may seem simple to you. please spell it out for me if it's more than just a link or quick fix. thank you!!!
meghan

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by meghan »

sorry,,, i just reread my post. i'm looking for the link to restore the default settings that existed when i downloaded mm.

thank you!
Lowlander
Posts: 56995
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Lowlander »

You can reset the whole layout by opening the registry and navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MediaMonkey\Interface and delete the whole folder/key. (I'd suggest googling about registry edits).

A more drastic step is a clean install: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ediamonkey
dtsig
Posts: 3588
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by dtsig »

Lowlander wrote:You can reset the whole layout by opening the registry and navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MediaMonkey\Interface and delete the whole folder/key. (I'd suggest googling about registry edits).

A more drastic step is a clean install: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ediamonkey
This really should be available through MM .. expecting *users* to be able to make changes to the registry is really dated
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Lowlander
Posts: 56995
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Lowlander »

That has already been discussed.
meghan

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by meghan »

@lowlander:

thank you
and
to clarify: i googled registry edits. a couple different comments said not to do it if i don't know what i'm doing as i might royally mess things up. there's also advice to back up my registry and other things i have no idea how to do. with that advice from random strangers, i'm more inclined to do the drastic install you mentioned. before it do though, can you tell me why i might prefer to just edit the registry?

also: when i went looking for the registry (start- regedit), a window popped up asking me if i wanted the registry editor to make changes to my hard drive. i'm terrified to click 'yes' and then have something freaky happen to my laptop.

how drastic is the reinstall?

thanks again
m
Lowlander
Posts: 56995
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Restore MM To Default Settings - Please Help

Post by Lowlander »

RegEdit seems to be the best approach as you seem to have an interface issue. However don't do things if you're not comfortable with them.

Clean Install would remove all of MediaMonkey and thus Play History, Playlists, unsaved tags, ect. are also lost (you could skip the remove database step).
Post Reply