Phantom playlists

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm
Contact:

Phantom playlists

Post by Overzeetop »

I'm not sure this is the right forum, but the playlists only seem to "exist" when syncing.

I recently moved over from iTunes, and imported the playlists from iTunes during the setup process. None of the playlists show up under "Playlists" in MediaMonkey, but when syncing with my LG G3 several of the old playlists attempt to sync, and show up on the device. Is there a special place to find those / does MM store the playlists in a specific folder that I can manually modify?

Part of the reason for asking is that the last step in synchronization is "Copying playlist [foo]" which takes several *minutes* per playlist, and seems to include the phantom playlists.
Lowlander
Posts: 48104
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Phantom playlists

Post by Lowlander »

Could they be in a sub-node of the Playlists node like Imported Playlists?

Have you tried running File > Maintain Library with complete optimization enabled?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Phantom playlists

Post by Overzeetop »

Well, I feel silly now. Yes, there were in the imported playlists. I didn't even realize that MM had nested playlists. Hopefully that will let me purge those (since I've recreated most of them already from scratch).

Thanks!

PS - there's definitely still some odd syncing behavior since some of the "imported" playlists - most of them actually - are from the current re-created playlists, some how back-synced to MM from the device, possibly as a result of incomplete syncs or MM crashes while syncing (which was about the first 3-4 times I tried). At least I know how/where to prune them now.
Post Reply